2014 IFES Baxter Award Ceremony Honors Dr. Christiana Thorpe


20 Nov 2014

Multimedia Type:

On November 3, 2014 the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) presented the 2014 Joe C. Baxter Award to Dr. Christiana Thorpe, Chief Electoral Commissioner and Chairwoman of the National Electoral Commission (NEC) of Sierra Leone. Dr. Thorpe is the first woman to serve as Chief Electoral Commissioner in Sierra Leone. She has spent her life fighting for the rights of the most vulnerable in society. During her tenure as the head of the NEC, the Commission has implemented meaningful reforms and conducted elections that have been agreed upon by all electoral stakeholders and the international community as being free, fair, transparent. Dr. Thorpe’s sister, Patricia O. Thorpe-Finney, accepted the award on her behalf.


Sierra Leone’s Ambassador to the United States Bockari Kortu Stevens delivered opening remarks and described Dr. Thorpe as an icon. Ambassador Linda Thomas-Greenfield, Assistant Secretary for the Bureau of African Affairs at the State Department, also spoke during the ceremony, introducing Dr. Thorpe’s accomplishments in election administration.