Fact Sheet: National Assembly of Pakistan

Publication Date: 
24 Jun 2015

Publication Type:

The Constitution of Pakistan, adopted unanimously by the National Assembly in April 1973, provides for a parliamentary system of government, with the President as the Head of State and the Prime Minister as the Head of Government. The Majlis-e-Shura (Parliament) of Pakistan is the country’s bicameral legislature consisting of the Senate and the National Assembly.