Warning message

Submissions for this form are closed.

Nominate the 2019 Joe C. Baxter Award Recipient

The annual Joe C. Baxter Award recognizes the contributions of election professionals whose skills, dedication and sacrifices to the field of election administration epitomize the mission of the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) and embody the spirit of former IFES Senior Adviser for Election Administration Joe C. Baxter, a legendary figure in the field of election administration.

Baxter began his work with IFES in 1994 as chief of party in Ghana, setting up mechanisms to register 9.2 million voters and train tens of thousands of election officials. In recognition of his efforts, he was named a chief by one of Ghana's largest tribes. From 1997-2002, as a senior adviser to IFES, his professionalism, kindness and respect left lasting impacts on the people he worked with during IFES missions to Africa, the Middle East and Asia.

The nominations process for the recipient of the 2019 Joe C. Baxter Award is now closed.

Award Criteria

IFES will select the international recipient of the Joe C. Baxter Award, based on the following criteria:

  • Impact on the field of election administration. Recipient's personal and professional achievements have had a demonstrable and positive impact on the field of election administration.
  • Focus on local ownership. Recipient's commitment to the principle of local ownership, for the benefit of citizens in developing countries or under volatile conditions.
  • Sustained dedication. Recipient's sustained achievements in terms of longevity, legacy and impact.
  • Progress of election administration. Recipient's positive influence on election administration processes, strengthening of local capacity and development of sustainable approaches.
  • Alignment with IFES' mission. Recipient worked in a country or countries where IFES has provided technical assistance to local election management bodies.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • The award is not given posthumously.

Past Honorees

2018 – Dr. Dong Nguyen Huu, Elections Expert, Vietnam
2017 – Tamar Zhvania, Chairwoman of Central Election Commission of Georgia, Georgia
2016 – Chafik Sarsar, President of Tunisia’s Independent High Authority for Elections, Tunisia
2015 – Michael Maley, Election Management Expert, Australia
2014 – Dr. Christiana Thorpe, Former Chief Electoral Commissioner and Chairman of the National Electoral Commission of Sierra Leone, Sierra Leone
2013 – Prof. Jørgen Elklit, Professor of Political Science and Government at Aarhus University, Denmark
2012 – Christian Monsod, Former Chairman of the Philippine Commission on Elections, Philippines
2011 – Dr. Delia Ferreira Rubio, Campaign Finance Expert, Argentina
2010 – Dr. Kwadwo Afari-Gyan, Former Chairman of the Electoral Commission of Ghana, Ghana
2009 – Dr. Rafael López-Pintor, Elections Expert, Spain