Elections in North Macedonia: 2020 Parliamentary Elections

Macedonians wave national flags during a 2016 protest in Skopje. © AP Photo/Boris Grdanoski

Macedonians will go to the polls on Wednesday, July 15, 2020, to vote for 120 members of Parliament (MPs). The elections had originally been scheduled for April 12 but were postponed as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Special categories of voters, such as those who are quarantining at home and those in centers for internally displaced persons, will be able to vote on July 13 and 14.

Seven political parties and coalitions are currently represented in Parliament. The ruling alliance is composed of 45 MPs from the Social Democratic Union of Macedonia and the Democratic Union for Integration, which formed a government after the 2016 elections. Parties and coalitions have agreed to respect all COVID-19 safety measures at all stages of the 2020 electoral process, and the election management body is implementing protocols to safeguard voters and poll workers.

To help you understand this important electoral process, the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) provides Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on Elections in North Macedonia: 2020 Parliamentary Elections. IFES FAQs include:

  • Is out-of-country voting allowed?
  • What provisions are in place to promote the equal participation of women and minorities?
  • What is the election management body doing to strengthen its technology and procedures to resist vulnerabilities and counter malign interference?
  • Who will observe during Election Day? How can they get accreditation?

Learn more about IFES’ programs in North Macedonia and follow @IFES_Europe on Twitter.

Learn more about IFES' COVID-19 Survival Guide for Democracies and follow #COVIDxDemocracy for new analysis and innovative solutions during this time of uncertainty.

Published on July 13, 2020.

Subscribe to Our Mailing List

Optional Member Code