Fact Sheet: Provincial Assemblies

Publication Date: 
24 Jun 2013

Publication Type:

The Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan (1973) envisages a federal parliamentary form of government with autonomy for the four provinces, Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK) and Balochistan. Each province has its own elected legislative body, Provincial Assembly, which sit in the provincial capitals: Lahore, Karachi, Peshawar and Quetta. Federalist systems with legislative power shared between the central and regional governments are generally more suitable for large, ethnically diverse countries, such as Pakistan, because local governments can be more responsive to the particular needs of citizens than a centralized government would.

Subscribe to Our Mailing List

Optional Member Code