SAMPLE BALLOT

Instructions for Voting on the Automatic Voting Machine

- 1. MOVE the RED Operating Lever Over to the Right Till the Bell Rings.
 2. Turn down the voting lever over the word "YES" to vote in favor of Retention of Judges, Constitutional Amendments, and Special Questions (if any). For a negative vote, turn down the voting lever over the word "NO".
- (indicated by the on this Sample Ballot) of your party to the right. To vote a split ticket: After you have pulled the Party Lever, turn up the voting Lever

on this Sample Ballot) over the Candidate's name you wish to cut out, and turn the voting Lever Down over the Name of any other Candidate for same office.

- 5. Move the Red Operating Lever to the Left.

The Voter Indicates His Choice by Turning Down a Lever Over Each Name for Which He Wishes to Vote.
No Vote Is Registered Until the Red Operating Lever Is Moved to the Left to Open the Curtains.
If You Wish to Change Your Choice You Can Do So by Returning Any Lever to the Unvoted Position and Turn Down Another in its Stead — Before Moving the Red Lever to the Left.

		T COURT H. Miller	DISTRICT	T COURT Missildine	DISTRICT	IE FO	ATE	NO OF	NG DVE IOV	JUD	GES BE R 7, 197 JUDICIA DISTRICT COURT Ray A. Fenton		RETAINE 78		D II	D IN O		DISTRICT COURT		COURT Hughes	For an e this ball vote, pu on the le	ot, pull down the eft hand side of the constitution be to the constitution be to the constitution of the c	Shall the Following Public Measure Be Adopted? "Shall Polk County be authorized to sell bonds and levy a tax to build a new County Jail at a cost not to exceed \$10,600,000.00, as more particularly described on the left		ndment and Public Mea above the word "YES" ord "NO". The entire of this machine. Shall the Following Public Measure Be Adopted? "Shall Polk County be authorized to impose a hotel and motel tax at the rate of 5% to apply in the unincorporated area, as more particularly described on the left hand side inside the curtain of this machine?"		Shall the Following Public Measure Be Adopted? "Shall the City of Des Moines be authorized to impose a hotel and motel tax at the rate of 5% in accordance with the terms of its ordinance and Sentate File 336. Acts of the 67th		Official Judicial, Constitutional Amendment, General Election Ballot Polk County, Iowa November 7, 1978 Ballot Rotation No. Des Moines Township Eighty-fourth Precinct COUNTY AUDITOR AND COMMISSIONER OF ELECTIONS 3	
	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO	YES	NO		
OFFICES	U. S. Senctor VOTE FOR ONE D.M.—84	U. S. Representative	Governor	Governor	Secretary of State vote for one	of State	Treasurer of State	Secretary of Agri- culture	Attorney General	10	State Representative 67th District VOTE FOR ONE	Treasurer	County Recorder VOTE FOR ONE		15	Non Polk (Hospita	Partisan County I Trustee AR TERM OR TWO	Non Por Polk Compital Two Year Yote For	Trustee	20 Non Partisan Regional Library Trustee FOUR YEAR TERM VOTE FOR ONE	Soil Cons		SHA ST SUPREME COURT Warren J. Rees	24 ALL THE F	COURT OF APPEALS Allen L.	CIAL BALL	27 BE RETAIN OT, NOVE	28 IED IN OFF MBER 7, 19 ASSOCIATE DIST. COURT Thomas A. Renda	78	
Democratic O Party	D.M.—84 1 A Dick Clark	2 A Neal Smith	3 A Jerome D. Fitzgerald	4 A William D. Palmer	5 A Walter R. Griffin	6 A John B. Brunow	7 A Robert A. Krause	8 A James D. Jordan	9 A Tom Miller		11 A Ned F. Chiodo	12 A Fred Horner	13 A Kathleen Shinstine	14 A Dan L. Johnston		16 A Jane G. Barnard	17 A Perry J. Chapin	18 A John D. Ahern	19 A Milton J. Brown	20 A Michael P. Joynt	21 A	22 A	23 A YES	24 A YES	25 A YES	26 A YES	27 A YES	28 A YES	29 A YES	
	D.M.—84															16 B Jeanne F. Miller		18 B Margaret Ann Stout					23 B NO	24 B NO	25 B NO	26 B NO	27 B	28 B NO	29 B NO	
Republican Orarty	D.M.—84 1 C Roger W. Jepsen	2 C Charles E. Minor	3 C Robert D. Ray	4 C Terry Branstad	5 C Melvin D. Synhorst	6 C Lloyd R. Smith	7 C Maurice E. Baringer	8 C Robert H. Lounsberry	9 C Richard C. Turner		11 C Jess Lewis	12 C Poula Maxheim	13 C Thomas J. Cannon, Jr.	14 C Ray Sullins																
Nominated By Petition No Party	D.M.—84 1 E Gerald Baker																													
Libertarian Party (Non-Party Political Organization)	D.M.—84 1 F Ben L. Olson		3 F John H. Ball																											
Socialist Party (Non-Party Political Organization)	D.M.—84		3 G Joseph W. Grant		5 G Leighton V. Berryhill	6 G Thomas J. Oliver		8 G James Dubert	9 G Steve Wilson										ets.											
Independent (Write-ins)	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9		11	12	13	14		16	17	18	19	20	21	22								