.

JTS Box Number:	IFES_64
Tab Number:	48
Document Title:	Local Government Elections 1994
Document Date:	1994
Document Country:	Guyana
Document Language:	English
IFES ID:	CE00767
	ער המשיר המנוע היא המנוע היא המנוע היא אין אין אין אין אין אין אין אין אין א





٠	
\$	•

HISTORICAL SKETCH

Ex slaves pooled their savings to buy estates to enjoy the pleasure of ownership and free themselves from the physical domination of the planters. Estates became villages e.g. Victoria, Buxton Beterverwagting, Danielstown, Aberdeen, Litchfield, Rose Hall etc.

Thès early village system was / managed by a committee system. / Committees were elected by villagers including women as early as 1845.

The Local Government System in Guyana was formally accepted by the Colonial Government in 1845 - an ordinance established a Board of Commissioners for Roads and Bridges: 1859 - A Board for drainage and sanitary purposes was formed 1892 - The Village ordinance granted Local Self Government: - The Public Health Ordinance 1907 was passed; 1932 - The District Commissioner system was created to guide Village Administration; 1935 - An ordinance was passed to legalise and improve the system of Elections. THE MARSHALL SURVEY - 1955 Dr A. H. Marshall appointed by the B.G. Constitution Commission recommended.

- 1 A one tier system of Local Government
- 2 That the Local Government Board be abolished
- 3 That the entire coastland including Sugar Estates should come under Local Government
- 4 The introduction of District Councils

5 - Registration for voting should not depend upon the possession of "Title."

6 - Greater suse should be made of the Committee system.

Dr A.H. Marshall's comprehensive report was formally accepted in 1964. It was known as the Marshall Plan. By 1972 the valuation for Rating purposes Act was passed (1969) and the Local Government Board was abolished (1972).

The Municipal & District Councils Act 1970 regulates the functions of all Local Government Councils. LOCAL DEMOCRATIC ORGANS

The 1980 Constitution stipulates in Article 71 that "Local Government, as a vital aspect of Socialist Democracy, should be so organised as to involve as many people as possible in the task of managing and developing the community in which they live."

The Regional System was devised to give impetus to the mobilisation of "as many people as possible."

Guyana was divided in 10 Regions and a Local Authority Council - The Regional Democratic Council is elected to admini ster the Affairs of each Region - excluding the towns.

A Region is further subdivided into Sub-Regions into Districts into Communities into Neighbourhoods into People's Cooperative Units.

The Neighbourhood Unit (Subdivision) is the most closely related unit to the traditional Local Authority. Units called Village or Districts.

According to the Law L.D.O. Act No. 12 of 1980 Section 6. Each Local Democratic Organ and the members and officers within Sits area shall have the duty

a - To maintain and protect public property;

b - To protect and improve the physica." environment;

3
c - to improve working and living
conditions;
d - to stimulate economic activities
and improve production and
efficiency:
e - To promote the social and
cultural life of people;
f - to raise the level of civic
consciousness;
g - to preserve law and order;
h - to consolidate socialist legality
1 - to safeguard the rights of the
people; and
j - to give advice, encouragement and
support to the people in their
daily activities and to give
leadership by example.
The Local Democratic Organs (Area)
(Amendment) Order 1994 provides for
the neighbourhood Democratic Council
to be the primary Local Bovernment
Authority similar to and with powers
conferred on a Village/District
Council by the Local Government Act
Cap. 28:02.
The Towns and Neighbourhoods due
for elections are listed over leaf and
show the number of Councillors.
A list of Candidates not less
than the seats on a council and not
exceeding 10 more of that number may

exceeding 10 more of that number may be submitted by 50 - 60 persons wishing to contest the elections in any Neighbourhood or Town.

0 -

y.

Based on the number of popular votes received, seats will be allocated to parties/groups that contested. The Representative of the List of Candidates will name the candidates to take up the seats allocated.

The council at the first sitting will elect it's Chairman and Vice Chairman for a Neighbourhood Democratic Council and the Mayor and Deputy Mayor for a Town.

 under the supervision and parview of the Minister responsible for Local Democratic Organs through the Regional Democratic Councils

This arrangement is expected to promote continuity of purpose and an orderly development process complementing Central Government activities and programmes.

In effect, the objectives of the new system of Local Democracy should:

- 1 revolutionise our economy and society;
- 2 remove the remaining traces and incidence of poverty and e exploitation;
- 3 build a new system and state in place of the old which has proved inadequate and
- 4 develop Guyana into a prosperous: and just society where the people's welfare and happiness are transcendental.

With those stated objectives, the organisation of the Local Government System is expected to "create selfreliance, productive and prosperous communities of people who understand the nature of national development and accept individual and collective responsibility for the task.

4.

NEIGHBOURHOOD DEMOCRATIC

COUNCILS

_ -

200 1 10

Port Kaituma, Matthew's Ridge	(18)	Zeelust/Eosignol	(18)
Arakaka		Balirmont/Gelderland	(18)
Mabaruma/Kumaka/Hosororo	(18)	Enfield/New Deo Park	(18)
Charity/Urasara	(18)	Kintyre/No. 37 or Borlam	(15)
Evergreen/Paradise	(18)	Gibralter/Fyrish	
Aberdeen/Zorg-en-Vlygt	(18)		(18)
Annandale/Riverstown	(18)	Ordnance Fort Island/No. 38	(18)
Good Hope/Pomona		Cane Field/Enterprise	(18)
	(18)	Kilcoy/Hampshire	(18)
Wakenaam		Port Mourant/John	(18)
Leguan	(18)	Bloomfield/Whim	(18)
Nora/Parika	(15)	Lancaster/Hogstye	(18)
Hydronie/Good Hope	(12)	Adventure/No. 28 pr Bush Lot	(18)
Greenwich Park/Vergenoegen	(15)	Maida/Tarogie	(18)
Tuschen/Uitvlugt	(18)	Nacedonia/Joppa	
Stewartville/Cornelia Ida	(18)	Black Bush Polder	(15)
Hauge/Blankenburg	(15)		(18)
La Jalcusie/Nouvelle Flanders	(18)	No. 52/No. 74	(18)
		Good Hope/No. 51	(18)
Best/Klien Pouderoyen	(18)	Crabwood Creek/Molseon	(18)
Malgre Tout/Meer-Zorgen	(15)	Bartica	(18)
La Grange/Nismes	(18)	Ireng/Sawariwau	(12)
Canals Polder	(18)	Kwakwani	(18)
Toevlugt/Patentia	(18)		(10)
Soesdyke/Huist Coverden	(18)		
Caledonia/Good Success	(18)		
Golden Grove/Diamond Place	(18)	ALING	
	(18)	TOWNS	
Noaha/Arcadia	$\begin{pmatrix} 10\\18 \end{pmatrix}$	Georgetown	(30)
Little Diamond/Herstelling		New Amsterdam	(15)
Ramsburg/Eccles	(18)	Linden	(20)
Industry/Plaisance	(18)		
Better Hope/La Bonne		Corriverton	(15)
Intention	(18)	Rose Hall	(12)
Beterverwagting/Triumph	(18)	Anna Regina	(15)
Mon Repos/La Reconnaissance	(18)		
Buxton/Foulis	(18)		
Buston/Fouris	(18)		
Enmore/Hope	(10) (18)	ч •	
Haslington/Grove			
Unity/Vereeniging	(18)		
Dane Grove	(18)		
Woodlands/Farm	(18)		
Hamlet/Chance	(12)		
Mahaicony/Abary	(18)		
Profit/Rising Sun	(15)		
Sea Field/Tempe	(15)		
	(18)		
Union/Naarstigheid			
Bath/Woodley Park	(18)		
Woodlands/Bel Air	(18)		

