Date Printed: 06/16/2009

JTS Box Number:	IFES_77
Tab Number:	52
Document Title:	Seven Minor Party and Independent Presidential Candidates
Document Date:	1988
Document Country:	United States District of Columbia
Document Language:	English
IFES ID:	CE02633
ער אינעאני נער ווערר ערוערי נוערא נוארא ווער אונדער אווער אוויער אוויער א	עראון איזאר איזאר וואן נאסראנו איזן אינטע וואן נאראער נועאראין איזאר אוארא געראר געראינין נאון אינון אאריי נ



.



GOVERNMENT OF THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA BOARD OF ELECTIONS AND ETHICS DISTRICT BUILDING WASHINGTON, D.C. 20004-3084

NEWS RELEASE

÷

From the D.C. Board of Elections and Ethics August 19, 1988

Contact: Leona Agouridis, 727-2525

SEVEN MINOR PARTY AND INDEPENDENT PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATES FILE TO APPEAR ON D.C. BALLOT NOVEMBER STE

D.C. Board of Elections Director Emmett H. Fremaux, Jr. announced today that seven minor party and independent presidential candidates have filed nominating petitions and met preliminary requirements to appear on the November 8th Presidential Election ballot in the District of Columbia.

Under D.C. law, **major** party candidates for President and Vice President appear on the ballot upon official notice by the Democratic and Republican parties.

The nominating petitions of the seven independent and minor party candidates will be posted for public inspection August 19th through August 29th in Room 7 of the District Building. During this period, any registered voter may challenge the voter signatures on the petition forms.

Ballot position for candidates who meet the qualifications at the end of the challenge period—along with the Democratic and Republican Party nominees--will be determined at a public lottery drawing at noon on Friday, September 2nd.

Independent and minor party candidates for president and vice president must file a nominating petition with the signatures of at least one percent of the voters registered in the District (approximately 2,700 signatures). At the time of filing, the candidates must also provide the names of the three Presidential electors pledged to them. The role of electors in the Presidential General Election is defined in Article II, Section I of the Constitution of the United States. The Constitution provides that the election of President and Vice President be made by <u>electors</u> chosen by voters in each of the states. When the electoral college meets on December 19, 1988, the individual electors will cast their ballots for their pledged presidential candidate, and the results of the election will become official.

The 23rd Amendment to the Constitution in 1961 granted District residents the right to vote in a presidential election as if the District of Columbia were a state--making the 1964 election the first time that D.C. voters cast ballots for President and Vice President of the United States. The District, as a result of the 23rd Amendment is permitted three Presidential Electors.

In addition to the contest for President and Vice President, the November ballot in the District will include the following offices:

- Delegate to the U.S. House of Representatives
- * Two At-Large City Council Members
- ° City Council Members from Wards 2, 4, 7, and 8
- * Two At-Large Board of Education Members
- ° Ward 3 Member of the Board of Education
- ° 323 Advisory Neighborhood Commissioners

For more information or to request a voter registration application by mail, the public may call 727-2525.

NR 88-32/600



.

2

.

LIST OF INDEPENDENT AND MINOR PARTY PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATES PRELIMINARILY QUALIFIED FOR NOVEMBER 8TH BALLOT

President	Vice President	Party	<u>Electors</u>
Willa Kenoyer	Ron Ehrenreich	Socialist Party	John Acher Mary Coleman Tilford Dudley
James Warren	Kathleen Mickells	Socialist Workers Party	Issac A. Naheim Susan G. Winsten Deborah R. Lazar
Ron Paul	Andre Marrou	Libertarian Party	Bob Hunt Dennis Sobin Scott Kohlhaas
Lenora B. Fulani	Mamie L. Moore	New Alliance Party	Jwayanza Igwe Alice Leblanc Winston C. Lewis
John G. Martin	Cleveland Sparrow, Sr.	Third World Assembly	Albert Gueory Marshall Williams James H. Robinson
Ed Winn	Barry Porster	Workers Party	Pierre R. DeVeaux Clara Norwood Reginald M. Peeples
Lyndon H. LaRouche	Debra H. Freeman	Independent	James H. Robinson Shirley K. Combs John W. Shaw

.