



A Lebanon Political Primer

Constitutional Positions

By political agreement since Lebanese independence in 1943, the three key constitutional positions are reserved for citizens from specific confessional groups.

General Michel Sleiman

Maronite Christian No political alignment Elected as President by Parliament on 25 May 2008. Formerly the Head of the Lebanese Armed Forces



Prime Minister Fouad Sinora Sunni Muslim

Future Movement Prime Minister since July 2005. Standing as a candidate in Saida.



Parliamentary Speaker Naibh Berri

Shiite Muslim Amal Movement Speaker since November 1992. Standing as a candidate in Zahrany.



Parliamentary Blocs

The 128-seat Lebanese Parliament currently has two parliamentary blocs: the majority bloc (with 67 Deputies) consists of political parties and affiliated independents referred to as "March 14". The other bloc (with 56 Deputies) consists of political parties and independents affiliated to two coalesced groups, the March 8 coalition and the Reform and Change alliance. At the time the June 7 elections were called, three Deputies are not affiliated to either bloc and there were two vacant seats. This chart refers to numbers of Deputies as of April 2009 and the confessional group to which the party is most closely linked.

March 14 Parliamentary Bloc

67 Deputies

Future Movement (FM)

27 Deputies Leader: Saad Hariri Mostly Sunni Muslim





Progressive Socialist Party (PSP)

6 Deputies

Leader: Walid Jumblatt





Druze

Lebanese Forces (LF) 5 Deputies

Leader: Dr. Samir Geagea

Christian

1 Deputy





Christian

Kateab (Phalange)

Democratic Left Movement 1 Deputy

(DLM)

Leader: President Amin Gemayel

Christian

Ramgavar

1 Deputy

Armenian Christian

Democratic Renewal Movement 1 Deputy (DRM)

Christian

Hanshak

1 Deputy

Armenian Christian

Independent Deputies affiliated to the March 14 bloc

24 Deputies

(16 Christian, 4 Sunni, 2 Armenian, 1 Druze, 1 Alawite)

The March 14 bloc also includes non-parliamentary political parties, including the Lebanese Option Group (Shiite), the National Bloc Party and the National Liberal Party (both Christian).

March 8 and Reform and Change Parliamentary Bloc

56 Deputies

Hezbollah

11 Deputies

Leader: Hassan Nasrallah

Shiite Muslim

Amal Movement

10 Deputies

Shiite Muslim

Leader: Nabih Berri





Free Patriotic Movement (FPM)

7 Deputies

Leader: General Michel Aoun

Christian

Tashnak

2 Deputies

Leader: Hovig Mekhitarian

Armenian Christian





Syrian Social Nationalist Party

2 Deputies (SSNP)

Secular



Nasserist Popular Movement

1 Deputy

Sunni

Arab Socialist Baath Party

1 Deputy Sunni

Independent Deputies affiliated to the M8 and C&R bloc

22 Deputies

(13 Christian, 3 Sunni, 4 Shiite, 1 Druze, 1 Alawite)

The March 8 and Change & Reform bloc also includes non-parliamentary political parties such as Marada (Christian) and the Lebanese Democratic Party (Druze).

The Council of Ministers

The Lebanese Cabinet is composed of 30 Ministers, with portfolios distributed equally between Christian and Muslim confessions. Following the May 2008 Doha Agreement, the current Cabinet has sixteen Ministers affiliated to March 14, nine Ministers affiliated to the March 8/C&R bloc and three non-affiliated Ministers who were nominated by President Sleiman. Under Article 65 of the Lebanese Constitution, the Council of Ministers must have a two-thirds majority to decide on 'national issues' such as the budget, international treaties, the election law, the dissolution of Parliament etc. Deputy P M Foreign Affairs Agriculture Youth & Sport Education Finance

Fouad Siniora	Ibrahim Najjar	Mohamad Safadi	Bahia Hariri	Mohamad Chatah	I. Abu Jamra	Fawzi Salloukh	Elias Skaff	Talal Arslan	Ziyad Baroud
FM	LF	Ind	FM	FM	FPM	Amal	Ind.	LD	Non-Affiliated
Sunni	Greek Orthodox	Sunni	Sunni	Sunni	Greek Orthodox	Shiite	Greek Catholic	Druze	Maronite
Information	Public Work	Environment	Culture	Displaced	Labour	Energy & Water	Telecoms	Health	Defence
Tarek Mitri	Ghazi Aridi	Antoine Karam	Tammam Salam	Raymond Audi	Mohamad Fneish	Alain Tabourian	Gebran Bassil	Mohamad Kalifeh	Elias Murr
Ind.	PSP	LF	Ind.	Ind.	Hezbollah	Tashnag	FPM	Amal	Non-Affiliated
Greek Orthodox	Druze	Maronite	Sunni	Greek Catholic	Shiite	Armenian Ortho.	Maronite	Shiite	Greek Orthodox
Admin Reform	Tourism	State	State	State	State	State	Industry	Social Affairs	State
Ib. Shamseddine	Elie Marouni	Nassib Lahoud	Khaled Qabbani	Wael Abou Faour	Jean Ogassapian	Ali Qanso	Ghazi Zoayter	Mario Aoun	Youssef Taqla
Ind.	Kataeb	DRM	FM	PSP	Ind.	SSNP	Amal	FPM	Non-Affiliated
Shiite	Maronite	Maronite	Sunni	Druze	Armenian Ortho.	Shiite	Shiite	Maronite	Greek Orthodox