

2009 Population Data

Governorate

Ben Arous

Manouba

Zaghouan

Jendouba

Nabeul

Bizerte

Béja

Kef

Siliana

Kairouan

Kasserine Sidi Bouzid

Sousse

Monastir

Mahdia

Sfax

Gafsa

Tozeur

Kébili

Gabés

Total

Médenine

Tataouine

Tunis

Ariana

Distribution of parliamentary seats for the 2009 elections by electoral district

(Images shows the illustrative weight of the number of seats per district and the proportion of the population in each district)

Under the existing Electoral Code (Article 72), the number of seats contested for the 2009 Tunisian parliamentary elections was determined using a formula based on population data. There is one seat in parliament for every 48,700 of population (i.e. 214 seats in total).

Seats were allocated per district for every 65,000 of population in that district (see table below, bringing a total of 161 district

The 54 seats not allocated to districts were reserved for allocation to a national constituency.

Estimated

Population

2009

996.400

483.500

565.500

363.000

744.200

169.400

543.200

304.700

422.300

257.000

234.100

558.200

427.700

408.800

600.400

505.200

394.100

918.500

335.100

102.300

148.600

358.300

453.300

145.800

10439.600

Note that information on the number of registered voters per electoral district for the 2009 elections is not publicly available.

% of total

population

9.54%

4.63%

5.42%

3.48%

7.13%

1.62%

5.20%

2.92%

4.05%

2.46%

2.24%

5.35%

4.10%

3.92%

5.75%

4.84%

3.78%

8.80%

3.21%

0.98%

1.42%

3.43%

4.34%

1.40%

Jendouba Zaghourn 7 sieges 3 seats Beja 5 seats Kef Siliana 4 seats 4 seats Kassering 7 seat Sidi Bouzaid 6 seats Number of % of total Gafsa parliamentary parliamentary seats seats 5 seats 15 9.3% 7 4.3% 9 5.6% 3.7% 6 11 6.8% Kebili Tozeur 3 1.9% 2 seats 2 seats 8 5.0% 3.1% 4.3% 2.5% 2.5% 9 5.6% 4.3% 6 3.7% 9 5.6% 8 5.0% 6 3.7% 14 8.7% 5 3.1% 2 1.2% 1.2% 3.1% 4.3% 2 1.2% 161

Ariana

Maylouba

6 seats

Sfax 1

6/seats

Gabes

5 seats

Tatouin

2 seats

Nabeul

11 seats

Mahdia

6 seats

Medenine

7 seats

Sfax 2

8 seats

Sousse

9 seats

Monastir 8 seats

Seats

Kairouan

9 seats

Birzete

8 seats

2009 Electoral System

Ben Arous

9 seats

Tunis 2

7 seats

The 214 seats in the Tunisian parliament are elected using a parallel electoral system.

Tunis 1

8 seats

161 Seats are elected from districts using Party Block Vote (list with the highest numbers of votes in a district winning all seats in that district)

53 Seats are elected from a national constituency, using Closed List Proportional Representation (chosen only from lists that have not won seats at district level)

2009 data from National Institute of Statistics

http://www.ins.nat.tn/en/donnee_demografiques0.1.php?code_indicateur=0201060&code_theme=0201