Election FAQ

Elections in Georgia: 2014 Local Self-Government Elections


On June 15, Georgians will go to the polls to vote for their municipal government representatives. Across the country, citizens will elect 2,088 council members to 71 local councils (called sakrebulos), 12 mayors of self-governed cities and 59 chief executives (called gamgebelis) of local self-government municipalities.

Building on the successes of national elections in 2012 and 2013, the local self-government elections will continue Georgia’s shift toward a more decentralized governing structure. These elections also have particularly high stakes for political parties, as the results of the sakrebulo party-list races will be used to determine eligibility for State funding and access to television air time in the next parliamentary elections. The June 15 vote will also be the first direct elections of mayors in major cities outside of the capital.

To help you understand this historic electoral process, the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) provides Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on Elections in Georgia: 2014 Local Self-Government Elections. IFES FAQs include:

  • Why are the local self-government elections important?
  • What is the current political situation in Georgia?
  • What is the election management body? What are its powers?
  • What are the rules governing the rights of local and international observers?

  • Download IFES' FAQs on Elections in Georgia: 2014 Local Self-Government Elections.

    Learn more about IFES' program in Georgia.