Pacific Islands

In 2022-23, the Pacific Islands, Fiji, Papua New Guinea and Solomon Islands will each hold national elections, highlighting each country’s progression towards more open and democratic best practices. IFES is working with regional election management bodies and local civil society organizations (CSOs) to strengthen electoral capacity and ensure elections are more inclusive for all citizens. Since 2001, IFES has been a committed stakeholder in providing partners in the region with global expertise and knowledge on international best practices focused on good governance.

The Pacific Islands encompasses a diverse political and electoral landscape with each country facing its own unique challenges and opportunities. To effectively address these issues, IFES partners with regional election management bodies to strengthen electoral integrity, planning and operations, as well as promote best practices for the inclusive participation of marginalized people. IFES’ partners with local CSOs to help them to increase he political participation; promote the inclusion of women, youth and persons with disabilities; raise voter awareness; and combat mis- and disinformation. In its region-wide efforts to make lasting improvements to democratic processes, IFES provides technical expertise focused on good governance and anti-corruption. Current IFES programming covers 12 Pacific Islands countries: the Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Our Global Expertise

IFES shares its deep expertise and capabilities with partners globally. We join with others to tackle the most pressing issues for democracy and elections today.
Our Expertise Banner
Crowd at an event

Get Involved

Learn more about IFES events and learning opportunities.

IFES Mentions

View All
Nothing was found. Try our Search.