left to right Amb. moran, Prof. Natsios and Sen. Moran headshots.
News and Updates

IFES Welcomes Five New Directors

New Directors together bring decades of experience in leadership and government 


The International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) is pleased to announce that Senator Jerry Moran, the Hon. Andrew Natsios, Ambassador Miriam Sapiro, Dr. Lorenzo Córdova, and Andrew Albertson have joined IFES’s Board of Directors.  

“As we welcome these esteemed leaders to our Board, we embrace not just their expertise, but the collective strength they bring to champion democracy” said IFES Board Chair Amb. William Eacho. “Together, their leadership will advance IFES’ commitment to building resilient democracies that deliver for all.”  

“This is a wonderful way for IFES to start 2024,” said IFES Board Co-Chair M. Peter McPherson. “The new Directors bring enormous experience in government, academia, and advocacy, and they will be invaluable to ensuring IFES continues to meet today’s challenges to democracy around the world.” 

These five Directors were elected to IFES’s Board by unanimous vote at its winter meeting on December 5, 2023. Their terms started on January 1, 2024.

About Senator Jerry Moran: Senator Moran is the senior senator from the state of Kansas. he was first elected to the United States Senate in 2010. Prior to joining the U.S. Senate, Moran served Kansans in the “Big First” Congressional district for seven terms in the U.S. House of Representatives, as well as eight years in the Kansas State Senate, where he spent the last two years as Majority Leader. Learn more   

About the Hon. Andrew Natsios: Natsios is an Executive Professor at the Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University and Scowcroft Institute of International Affairs. He was previously a Distinguished Professor in the Practice of Diplomacy at Georgetown University’s Walsh School of Foreign Service (2006-2012). Professor Natsios served as Administrator of the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) from 2001 to January 2006. Learn more 

About Ambassador Miriam Sapiro: Ambassador Miriam Sapiro is a non-resident Senior Adviser at the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) and a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. Miriam served as Deputy and Acting U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) during the Obama-Biden Administration. Her previous government service includes work in the White House at the National Security Council as Special Assistant and Counselor to President Clinton and as a Director for European Affairs. Learn more

About Dr. Lorenzo Córdova: Dr. Cordova is a Senior Researcher at the Institute for Legal Research at the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM) as well as a Professor of Constitutional Theory and Constitutional Law at UNAM Law. In April 2023, Dr. Córdova stepped down from his post as Councilor President of the National Electoral Institute (INE), Mexico’s election management body. Prior to this position, he was elected as Electoral Councilor of the former Federal Electoral Institute (IFE) of Mexico. Learn more   

 About Andrew Albertson: Albertson is the founding Executive Director of Foreign Policy for America. Prior to founding FP4A, Andrew worked at USAID's Office of Transition Initiatives (OTI), where he was Deputy Regional Representative for OTI's programs in the South and Southwest regions. Andrew is a Fellow with the Truman National Security Project and recently co-directed the organization’s Fragile States Working Group. Learn more