Municipalities in Azerbaijan

Publication Date: 
30 Sep 2002

Publication Type:


Municipalities in Azerbaijan

In accordance with the Constitution of the Republic of Azerbaijan, a new institution of local self-governance in the form of municipalities has been established. Municipal institutions were created to decentralize governmental management systems and mobilize civil society to collectively resolve public issues. Relevant legislative acts give municipalities a wide range of responsibilities for resolving different social, economic and ecological problems within the territories of municipalities that are outside control of the relevant State programs. In December 1999, the first municipal elections were conducted and nearly 23,000 citizens of the Republic of Azerbaijan were elected as members of municipalities. Among those elected there are ruling and opposition party members and independents. 2669 municipalities are functioning in Azerbaijan. The administrative and territorial divisions of districts, settlements, towns and town districts form the basis for municipal territorial divisions.

Read the Full Report.

Subscribe to Our Mailing List

Optional Member Code