election FAQ

Elections in Côte d’Ivoire: 2016 Legislative Elections


On December 18, Ivoirian voters will elect 255 members of the National Assembly, the lower house of Parliament. Following the approval of a new constitution via an October 2016 referendum, National Assembly members will be elected for four-year terms instead of five, as was previously the case. Members of the National Assembly are elected from 205 single and multi-member constituencies using first-past-the-post voting.

To help you understand this important electoral process, the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) provides Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) on Elections in Côte d’Ivoire: 2016 Legislative Elections. IFES FAQs include:

  • What is the structure of the government?
  • What technology will be used?
  • Who will be observing on Election Day? How can they get accreditation?
  • How will Election Day security be ensured?