2018 Charles T. Manatt Democracy Awards

Event Date:

24 Sep 2018 at 6:00pm
Four Seasons Hotel, 2800 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, D.C. 20007

The International Foundation for Electoral Systems’ (IFES) Charles T. Manatt Democracy Award is presented each year in a special ceremony to one Democrat, one Republican and a member of the international community who demonstrate the dedication to democracy and human rights embodied by the award’s namesake, former IFES Board of Directors Chairman Charles T. Manatt.

IFES will honor former President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia, United States Agency for International Development Administrator Mark Green (R) and Senator Christopher Coons (D-Del.) with its 2018 Charles T. Manatt Democracy Award. Honorees will receive the awards at a special ceremony that will take place on Monday, September 24, at the Four Seasons Hotel located at 2800 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington, D.C. 20007. The awards ceremony will be emceed by Caraway Group President and CEO Yolanda Caraway and co-chaired by IFES Board Chairman Ken Blackwell and Smith-Free Group Senior Vice President Alicia Smith.

Individual tickets for this ceremony are $500 and tables of 10 are $5,000. A full list of sponsorship opportunities and benefits is available here.

The proceeds from the event will benefit the IFES Innovation Fund, an endowment that supports original projects that address pressing issues in democratic development today. IFES awards funds to outstanding proposals from staff that support local programs focused on promoting gender equality, adequate use of technology, electoral security, human rights and inclusion of persons with disabilities.

The evening will begin with a reception at 6:00 p.m., followed by the awards ceremony.

Past Democracy Award Recipients


His Excellency Luis Almagro, Uruguay
Hon. David Price (D-N.C.)
Former IFES Board of Directors Vice Chair Judy Black (R)


Nay Lin Soe, Myanmar
Hon. Sheila Jackson Lee (D-Tex.)
Senator John Barrasso (R-Wyo.)


Professor Attahiru Jega, Nigeria
Hon. Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.)
Hon. Ed Royce (R-Calif.)


Maria Corina Machado, Venezuela
Hon. Steny Hoyer (D-Md.)
Hon. Jerry Moran (R-Kan.)


Dr. Leonardo Valdés Zurita, Mexico
Hon. Richard J. Durbin (D-Ill.)
Hon. Kay Granger (R-Tex.)


Maimuna Mwidau, Kenya
Hon. David Dreier (R-Calif.)
Hon. Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.)


Judge Johann Kriegler, South Africa
Hon. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.)
Hon. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-Fla.)


Ziad Baroud, Lebanon
Hon. M. Peter McPherson, USAID
Hon. David Obey (D-Wis.)

Recipients, 1996-2007

Hon. Lee H. Hamilton
H.E. José Miguel Insulza, Chile, OAS
Hon. James Inhofe (R-Okla.)
H.E. Leonid Kuchma, Ukraine
Hon. Tom Lantos (D-Calif.)
Hon. Richard G. Lugar (R-Ind.)
Rev. Msgr. Agripino Núñez Collado, Dominican Republic
H.E. Ronald Reagan
Richard Soudriette, IFES