Fact Sheet: Presidential Elections in Pakistan

Publication Date: 
24 Jun 2013

Publication Type:

At the time of its creation on August 14, 1947, Pakistan had the status of a dominion, which continued until March 23, 1956 when the first Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan was promulgated. Quaid-i-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah was the first Governor General of Pakistan. The fourth and last Governor General, Iskandar Mirza, became the first President of the Republic. Since then, Pakistan has had 11 Presidents, including four Army Chiefs. 

The 1973 Pakistani Constitution envisages a parliamentary form of government. The Parliament of Pakistan consists of the President, the Senate and the National Assembly. The President of Pakistan is the ceremonial head of the country, with the role of representing the unity of the Republic.

Subscribe to Our Mailing List

Optional Member Code